Quantum Computing and Simulation Workshop – 11th and 13th of October 2023, Venice, Italy

The Quantum Computing and Simulation Workshop took place from the 11th to the 13th of October 2023 and was hosted by the Istituto Veneto in the stunning Palazzo Franchetti, located right in front of the Venice Grand Canal.

The workshop aimed to bring together key figures from the Italian and European quantum community, along with representatives from companies and startups working in the field of quantum science and technology.

Attendance at the workshop was by invitation only, and it included participants from three prominent initiatives in Quantum Science:

  • The Quantum Computing and Simulation Center (QCSC)
  • The National Research Center on High-Performance Computing, Big Data, and Quantum Computing (ICSC)
  • The European Quantera project T-NiSQ

Additionally, several distinguished invited speakers attended the event.

The primary focus of the workshop was on Quantum Simulation and Computation technologies. The discussions revolved around the latest implementations in the field, including quantum and quantum-inspired algorithms (such as Tensor Network), quantum simulation of high-energy and many-body systems, and potential industrial applications.

The workshop program featured one scientific talk for each representative of the involved projects and a poster session where other participants could present their research.

On the final day, Friday the 13th, there was a dedicated session on the industrial sector. This session included venture capitalists, startups operating in the realm of Quantum Science, and companies interested in this emerging technology.

List of speakers:

  • Ferdinand Schmidt-Kaler (Mainz University)
  • Tilman Pfau (Stuttgart University)
  • Guido Pupillo (Strasburg University)
  • Tommaso Calarco (Forschungszentrum Jülich)
  • Karl Jansen (Desy)
  • Enrique Rico (Ikerbasque)
  • Mari Carmen Banalus (MPQ)
  • Martin Ringbauer (Innsbruck University)
  • Zala Lenarcic (Josef Stefan Institute)

Scientific Committee:

  • Giuseppe Calajò
  • Marco Di Liberto
  • Simone Montangero
  • Flavio Seno
  • Pietro Silvi